Cheese and Herb Bread

Hello Friends,

How are you all doing? Are you enjoying the summer so far? We don’t have hot summer this year in Toronto which is perfectly fine for me. I am from India and don’t miss hot days. There are many events here in Toronto during summer and I am trying to go to many events. Recently I went to Caribana which was lot of fun.

I wanted to invite someone for dinner when they were visiting Toronto but they didn’t have much time so they decided to come for afternoon masala chai/tea. I was thinking  about  what to serve them as I like to make something fresh with tea. After some brain storming, I decided to try this bread. Everything I make has many flavours so when I decided to make bread, immediately I thought of adding herbs to it. It was my 1st trial and my family hates when I try to make something new when I have guests…lol. It was a great success and my tray was empty in no time 😀 😀 .

Preparation Time: 20-30 minutes

Cooking Time: 20-25 minutes

Ingredients:

For Dough
4 cups plain flour or all-purpose flour
2 tbsp olive oil or any cooking oil
1 tsp caraway seeds
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp rosemary
Salt to taste
1 tsp active dry yeast
Pinch of sugar
Warm water

Other Ingredients
Mozzarella cheeses (more the better) cut in 1 inch cubes
1 tsp olive oil
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp basil (dried) or fresh leaves chopped
1 tsp dry rosemary

Also need
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1-2 tbsp butter

Procedure:

1. To make dough, take lukewarm water in a bowl. Add pinch of sugar and mix. Add 1 tsp dry yeast, do not stir and keep on side for 5-10 mins to activate. If yeast does not activate then throw away the mixture and restart. TIP: Water should be lukewarm (not hot) otherwise yeast does not activate.Ferment Yeast

2. Mix all the ingredients for the dough (rub caraway seeds, oregano and rosemary between your palm before adding) including activated yeast and make soft dough with warm water. Knead the dough properly. Place the dough in a greased bowl, cover with plastic wrap and put it in a warm place to rise for 2-3 hours until dough doubles in size.Pizza dough
3. When dough doubles in size, prepare cheese for stuffing. In a bowl, mix cheese cubes, olive oil, oregano, basil and rosemary. Keep on side.
4. In a bowl, melt butter in microwave then add garlic powder and mix well. Keep it on side.

5. Prepare cake pan first by rubbing butter and dust with dry flour. I am using round cake tin but you can also use square or rectangle tin. The tin should be big enough so when you arrange balls they have some space in between to rise.

6.  When dough is ready, knead the dough one more time. Make soft ball size balls and keep in a plate. I made around 17-18 balls. Now take one ball, make well in the middle, put one herb cheese cube and pull the sides together to cover the cheese. Arrange this stuffed ball in prepared cake tin keeping tucked side at the bottom. Arrange all balls in cake tin leaving some space in between so it can rise. Brush generous amount of garlic butter on top. Leave this on side. I left non heated oven for about an hour to rise. 
7. When you are ready to bake, pre heat the oven at 450 Fahrenheit. Put your bread to bake on middle rack. It took about 15-20 mins in my convection oven but time will vary depending on your oven. Keep an eye so bread doesn’t burn on the top. You can also do toothpick test to check when they are done. When the bread is slightly brown on the top, turn off the oven and pull out the bread.

7. No need to wait longer as this bread is so flavourful, it will make you hungry while baking!! The herb cheese in the middle will melt and the flavours from all herbs will immerse in bread. If any left, you can keep it at room temperature for next day or so.
The bread was so soft, spongy and flavourful. From all the snacks I served with the chai, this bread was the first one gone. You have to try it to believe it!! You can use olive oil instead of butter for vegan version.

Leave me a comment if you have any question or if you tried cooking this bread.

Thank you for visiting my blog. Happy cooking!

Check out my Facebook page and like the page to receive the latest recipes in your news feed! You can also follow me on Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram.

Facebook Bhavna’s Food Journey

Twitter @BhavnasFoodJrny

Pinterest Bhavna’s Food Journey

Instagram Bhavna’s Food Journey

2 comments

Hey! I would love to hear your thoughts and suggestions. Do leave me a comment.

