Chana Fenugreek Mango Pickle

Dear Foodies,

Few days back I posted the recipe of Pickle Masala. I am now using the same masala to make this pickle. We Indians love the pickles and it goes perfectly with our food. We like to eat as condiment with our main food. In my house, some days I will only make roti with some spices and we will eat it with pickle and yogurt on side. People from different region in India makes with slight variations but most uses mango. Pickles are made during summer in India when mangoes are available in plenty. This recipe is from Gujarat, India, we call it Chana Methi nu Athanu.

This is my mom’s recipe. Growing up this pickle I loved the most. I am not big on sweet mango pickle, I like spicy and salty pickles. Every year my mom made this especially for me. I still love it so much that I decided to share the recipe with you all.

Preparation Time: 20 minutes

Cooking Time: 2-3 minutes

Ingredients:

4-5 unripe/raw mango
2 tbsp salt
1 tsp turmeric powder
1/2 cup fenugreek seeds
1/2 cup black chana/gram
2 cups pickle masala
Salt to taste
1/2 tsp asafoetida
1 1/2 cup oil

Procedure

1. 1st wash mango and dry with clean towel. Then cut mango in bite size pieces. In a big bowl mix mango pieces with 2 tbsp salt and turmeric powder and mix well. Keep it overnight. Next day you will see yellow water from mango and salt. Remove mango from this salty water and let mango dry on clean cloth for few hours. You can let mango dry under direct sun light.

2. Soak fenugreek seeds and black chana overnight in water. Next morning, discard water and spread on clean dry cloth to dry. When all the water evaporates, they are ready to use.

3. Before you start to make pickle, heat 1 1/2 cup oil in a pot. Bring oil to smoking point and turn off the heat. Let it cool on side.

4. Now you are ready to finally assemble pickle. In a big clean bowl, mix mango pieces, pickle masala, chana and methi, salt and asafoetida. You can roast the salt before adding to pickle which will increase the shelf life of pickle. Pickles need more salt than usual so make sure to taste it. Mix well. Mix masala4. Store in clean dry glass bottle/jar. Fill the bottle with pickle and press it towards bottom. Pour boiled oil when it is at room temperature.\. Make sure pickle is completely covered with oil. It will stay good for few months inside or outside fridge. But it is safe to keep in the fridge. Beware that whenever you remove some pickle from the jar, press remaining pickle so it is covered with oil on the top.
Mango pickle 1

5. Enjoy this traditional Gujarati pickle with any Indian curries. It also goes very well with biryani. I can eat with just plain roti and I will be on cloud 9 😛 XD .
Mango pickle
I am missing my mom 😦 . She is in India, world apart from me. Love you mom <3.

Hope you will try this pickle recipe and will fall in love.

Also let me know if you have any questions regarding the dish.

Thank you for visiting my blog. Until next time!

Check out my Facebook page and like the page to receive the latest recipes in your news feed!
https://www.facebook.com/bhavnasfoodjourney

You can also follow me on Twitter @BhavnasFoodJrny and

pin on Pinterest Bhavna’s Food Journey.

5 comments

Hey! I would love to hear your thoughts and suggestions. Do leave me a comment.

