Panini/Grilled Sandwich

Dear Friends,

When it comes to sandwich, I love Bombay sandwich which is made with green chutney and butter spread on the bread and layered with slices of boiled potato, tomato, onion and cucumber…yum, all time favourite. I learned of panini after I moved to Canada and I absolutely love it :P. I have been making it for quite long time. I usually prepare it when I have mozzarella cheese ball in the fridge, it melts perfectly when grilled.
Panini is prepared using baguette, ciabatta, and michetta bread. You can add any grilled vegetable you like. You can also spread some mustard and ketchup to enhance the flavour. I personally don’t like any sauce, I use oregano and sweet basil to add the flavour to my panini. This sandwich doesn’t require any preparation and ready in just few minutes.

Preparation Time: 0 minutes

Cooking Time: 5 minutes

Ingredients:
Ciabatta/Baguette bread
Mozzarella cheese slices
Fresh/dry sweet basil
Fresh/dry oregano
Red chili flakes (optional)
Tomato slices
Salt to taste
IMG_7539
Procedure

1. Slice the ciabatta bread lengthwise. Spread slices of mozzarella cheese, sprinkle fresh or dry basil, fresh or dry oregano, chili flakes (for heat) and some salt if you like. IMG_7541

2. Cover it with another slice of bread and grill or toast it. You can use either electric grill or non stick pan. If you are using pan, cover and put the weight on it to melt the cheese.
IMG_7543

3. When cheese starts to melt and you see grill mark on top of the bread, remove it from the grill. Carefully separate the top slice and arrange few tomato slice on it and put top slice back. If you want to add some extra flavour, spread some coriander basil chutney on the top.. :P.
Grill Panini

4. Make a cut in the middle and serve immediately with soup, salad or soda. Enjoy it any night of the week or for light weekend supper.
Panini
Let me know if you have any questions regarding the dish. Hope you will also fall in love with this panini as I do :).

You can also find other Italian recipe ideas on my blog.

Thank you for visiting my blog. Have fun cooking!

Check out my Facebook page and like the page to receive the latest recipes in your news feed!
https://www.facebook.com/bhavnasfoodjourney

You can also follow me on Twitter @BhavnasFoodJrny and pin on Pinterest Bhavna’s Food Journey.

Hey! I would love to hear your thoughts and suggestions. Do leave me a comment.

